jQuery(function($){ $('.logo_container a').attr('href','https://fertilityfriendsfoundation.com'); });

I am a single 37 year old woman who has not yet found the right one and doesn’t want to delay and risk losing my chance to have a child so I decided to have one on my own.  I am a public servant with the Federal Government in Ottawa.  I work at home full-time and have a lot of flexibility with my schedule, which would be ideal with young children.

My education was originally in Fine Art and Classical Studies.  I have been working on my Master of Arts in Communication part-time for the past couple of years.  I will complete my final research paper and graduate in 2024.

I do and teach yoga though not professionally at the moment.  I like to run and spend a lot of time outside in nature.  I live in an area where there are lots of lovely paths and beautiful nature to see and I dream about sharing that with a child someday.

My Fertility Journey
I decided 2 years ago to pursue having a child on my own and since have done 6 IUI procedures and 1 IVF cycle without success. This was challenging and emotional but I am very hopeful for this next cycle.  I have a great support network in particular my Mum who takes me to all of my appointments and provides emotional support along the way.  She will look after the baby once I return to work after maternity leave.

The costs of the treatments so far have been challenging especially in a time of such rapid inflation.  I am so grateful that The Fertility Friends Foundation has awarded me with this grant. Were I not to receive it I would need to delay the procedure for another year and at my age that could substantially lower the likelihood of conception.

Laura

Home

For more information about our registered charity and fertility grants.